In-Depth Post #4

Happy Friday everyone! Since there hasn’t been too much homework these last few weeks, I have been able to work on In-Depth quite a bit! In addition to this, I have been meeting with my mentor a lot as well!

My mentor, due to his experience, has given me a lot of advice regarding my art. As such, I’ve had a few questions. Like De Bono states, “[questions] allow for further exploration” and “clarification of any misunderstandings”, and so I try to ask questions when I feel confused or want to dive deeper into his content (p. 72). For instance, my mentor gave me the advice to “try and use more complimentary colours in your work”. I had forgotten what the complimentary colours were, and so I asked for some clarification in the advice. He then proceeded to educate me on how different pairs and shades of colours will make the artwork more “pleasing to look at”, and afterwards I implemented it into my work. After asking the question and executing it into my work, I can fully agree that the use of these colours really help the piece pop. I also took some time to ask questions like “what piece of advice regarding art do you think is most important?”, which gave me the opportunity to get a truly opinion-based answer that I can use on my work. As for the answer, my mentor told me that “the first layer of the artwork is the most important as every other layer is based off it”, and so I decided to spend more time working on bases rather than rushing through.

Although I did have questions, they were few and far between. I am more of a listener, and so I pay attention to his lessons rather than interrupt them with questions. After all, I can ask the questions after the lecture, so I might as well let him speak just in case he answers it in his presentations. Like De Bono mentions in his book, “if you listen carefully and attentively you will get more value from listening than from talking”, which I fully agree with (p. 69). For instance, during a meeting, my mentor told me how “the outlines [in your art] are just as important as the parts inside of them”. I knew what he meant and agreed with him on his stance, and so I attempted to implement it more into a future piece.

Thank you for reading my post and I hope you enjoy the art I’ve made! See you next week!

I wanted to create a piece focusing on the fearlessness of front-line workers during the pandemic.
I am currently working on a character design piece. I had recently bought a new set of Prismacolor pencils and noticed I had a lot of extra purple pencils, and so I decided to put them to good use.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *